Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
ALER Laureate Award

ALER Laureate Award

This annual award (begun in 1996) recognizes a ALER member and is based on the following criteria:
1) Influence on other reading professionals through mentoring, teaching, and other activities,
2) Longevity of membership in ALER,
3) Research, publications, and presentations that involve collaboration with students, teachers, and other professionals, and
4) Participation in ALER conferences/activities such as serving on the Board of Directors and/or on commissions/committees (conference registration provided).

This award is determined by an Awards Committee chaired by the Past President of ALER. This person speaks at the J. Estill Alexander Forum for Leaders in Literacy at the conference and receives an engraved plaque.


This year’s recipient is Dr. Elizabeth Sturtevant.

Past Winners

Wayne Linek, 2015
Mary Roe, 2014
D. Ray Reutzel, 2013
Judy S. Richardson, 2012
Robert J. Rickelman, 2011
Jack Cassidy, 2010
Nancy Padak, 2009
Victoria J. Risko and Marino Alvarez, 2008
Maria Valeri Gold, 2007
Timothy Rasinski, 2006
Allen Berger, 2005
Donna Alvermann, 2004
Jerry L. Johns, 2003
Linda Gambrell, 2002
Betty S. Heathington, 2001
Jeanette Veatch, 2000
Patricia S. Kosiken, 1999
Albert J. Mazurkiewicz, 1998
J. Estill Alexander, 1997
Lillian R. Putnam, 1996

Sign In

ALER Notes & News Blog